Rotary International’s District 5190 is the largest, land area, district in this country covering Nevada north of Las Vegas and northeastern California. The Rotary Club of Ione took home 6 award during the District Conference held in Reno May 17th through 19th.


The proud Board of Directors of The Rotary Club of Ione are from left to right: Sharon Long President Elect for 2013-2014, Jake Herfel Foundation Chairman, Skip Schaufel Executive Secretary, Rick Kreth Treasurer, Dave Wardall Club Administration Chairman, and President Larry Costick, not shown are Past President and Membership Chairman Richard Forster and New Generations Chairman George Lambert


Their award were best Community Service Project of the Year among clubs under 30 members for their work on the Evalynn Bishop Hall restoration and best Literacy Project of the Year for the remodeling of Ione’s Branch Library. Four additional awards for Most Improved Attendance, Paul Harris Foundation work; Per Capita Giving and the Membership Ignite Program were also collected.

Rotary Clubs worldwide rotate their officers and Boards of Directors every July; Sharon Long will soon be assuming the Presidency of The Rotary Club of Ione and carrying on the Rotary tradition of “Service Above Self”. If you would like to learn more about Ione Rotary’s activities please visit our website at